Starting Point Slot Schagen
Routes from this starting point
-
Neskaag Route (red)
- 10.97km
-
Tolke Route (blue)
- 8.38km
The castle, together with the Grote Kerk on the market square, forms the heart of Schagen – and of the walking network. It was built in 1430 by William the Bastard, the first Lord of Schagen. The market town lay slightly higher than its surroundings, on a strip of land – ‘scaghon’ or ‘scagha’ – from which its name is derived. Following the great floods of the 12th and 13th centuries and the completion of the Westfriese Omringdijk around 1250, the town prospered between the 15th and 17th centuries. Farmers were able to bring increasing areas of land outside the dwelling mounds into cultivation. The Schagen market became a centre for trade in livestock, meat, fish, poultry, eggs, flax, fruit, grain, beans and more. Two circular walks explore the still open and green surrounding countryside.
- The red Neskaag Route runs through the marine clay polder of Neskaag, along old country lanes and across farmland past the Keinsmerwiel.
- The blue Tolke Route runs through the old mound landscape south of the town, along former tramways, partly unpaved country and dyke roads, canal-side paths and mound tracks.